In Case You Missed It: Peter Murphy Talks With Extra!

Peter Murphy stopped by The Grove in Los Angeles to chat with TV newsmagazine show Extra while he was in town promoting his new album Ninth. Check out the video interview above and read the full story HERE

Nettwerk One's Admiral Fallow Releases 'Boots Met My Face'

"Absolutely beautiful - a great new talent" - BBC Radio 1

“Top 10 At SXSW 2011” – Paste Magazine

“****” – MOJO

Released yesterday, Boots Met My Face by Nettwerk One’s Scottish quintet Admiral Fallow, is a joyous, heart-filled, orchestral-tinged and beautifully well-crafted album. Released earlier this year in the UK, the band received tremendous praises, including BBC, NPR, MOJO and Paste Magazine.

Check out lead single, “Subbuteo” HERE

Comprised of lead singer and main writer Louis Abbott, Sarah Hayes, Joe Rattray, Kevin Brolly and Philip Hague, their sets go from simple voice and guitar compositions ("Four Bulbs"), through stomping Wilco-esque tunes to riotous cacophonies of white noise (see "Squealing Pigs" above); their songs about alienation within relationships and experiences of “youth” itself are sung and screamed with utter abandon while the band works themselves into a furious frenzy.

The full album is currently streaming at AOL Spinner, click HERE to listen.

Kidstreet Releases Third Single "Birthday Boy"

Waterloo trio Kidstreet releases their third single "Birthday Boy" today. The rambunctious electro dance single will be accompanied by an exclusive b-side, the infectious high-energy track "Penny Candy.” Listen to both tracks below.

Kidstreet - "Birthday Boy" Digital Single by nettwerkmusicgroup

Keep reading for more information.

Debut Video From Blush Featuring Snoop Dogg Is First Ever Designed Using iPad Brushes App

FarWest Entertainment announced the premiere of the global debut single by Blush yesterday, June 21, as part of Yahoo! Music Monday. The animated video for “Undivided” features Snoop Dogg and marks the first-ever music video created solely utilizing the Brushes App for iPad.

Blush is Victoria, Natsuko, Angeli, Ji Hae and Alisha, five gifted girls whose edgy and fun music is delivered with a unique spin. “Undivided” is an irresistible anthem of solidarity and devotion that heralds the arrival of a group that embodies the style and spirit of girls everywhere, all with a sound and attitude like no other international act today. Snoop Dogg guests on the song’s vocal track and revolutionary new animated clip, as well as a forthcoming performance video of the single.

The clip, created by acclaimed animator Shawn Harris, was inspired by early ’80s animation from The Electric Company and Sesame Street as well as wall graffiti by mysterious international artist Blu. The final “Undivided” video features about 7,000 painstaking finger brush strokes. “The best media for this technique wasn't print, but video,” explains Harris. “The Brushes application isn't designed specifically for animation, but if you can manage to be deliberate enough to record each brush-stroke as a separate frame, it lends itself to a very organic-feeling style of stop-motion finger-painting. The video is an exposed process--basically one painting, painted over and over and over itself.”

(Keep reading for more information...)

Angus & Julia Stone Win Big At APRA Awards

The accolades keep pouring in for Aussie bro/sis duo Angus & Julia Stone, who won two major awards at the Australasian Performing Right Association (APRA) Awards in Sydney on June 21. The pair took home the peer-voted Song Of The Year award for stand-out single "Big Jet Plane" and the coveted Songwriter Of The Year award, which is picked by the APRA board of directors.

This is the latest in a slew of honorable recognition that Angus & Julia have received around their sophomore album Down the Way.  They took home Single and Album Of The Year at the 2010 ARIA Awards, and grabbed the #1 spot on triple J's Hottest 100 earlier this year. 

Joshua Hyslop To Release Debut EP 'Cold Wind' On July 19; Out In iTunes Exclusively Now!

“One of those superbly talented performers that seems to come from out of nowhere. Young Mr. Hyslop has a singer-songwriter maturity far beyond his years.”
Mark Rheaume – CBC Radio

Vancouver singer-songwriter Joshua Hyslop will release his debut EP "Cold Wind" across Canadian retail stores on July 19, 2011. The EP features tracks such as the melodic "Nowhere Left To Go", CBC Radio 2 favourite "If I Was A Better Man" and the title track single "Cold Wind", where Joshua reflects on his perseverance in the face of adversity. As a special exclusive, iTunes makes the “Cold Wind” EP available beginning June 21, four weeks before the physical release date.

Joshua Hyslop - Cold Wind EP by nettwerkmusicgroup 

(Keep reading for more information...)

Today Ladytron Releases Follow-Up, "Ambulances," From 'Gravity The Seducer'

Ladytron - Selections from 'Gravity The Seducer' by nettwerkmusicgroup

Last month, Ladytron released lead single, “White Elephant,” from their upcoming studio album, Gravity The Seducer (September 13 in the US; September 12 in the UK). This month, the UK-based quartet (Daniel Hunt, Reuben Wu, Helen Marnie and Mira Aroyo) offers follow-up track, “Ambulances.”

Chad "Chadwick" Stokes Will Tour This Fall In Support Of Solo Debut, 'Simmerkane II'

Full Album Stream At Baeble Music, Click HERE

Dispatch and State Radio member Chad "Chadwick" Stokes kicks off his fall tour on September 14 in support of his solo debut, Simmerkane II, set for release on June 28. Beginning in Los Angeles at the Bootleg Theater, the 12-city tour includes stops in San Francisco, Portland, Boulder, Nashville, Atlanta, among other U.S. cities. An in-store at Newbury Comics (1 Faneuil Hall Marketplace, Boston) is planned for June 28 at 6:00 P.M. Stokes is currently on a sold-out tour with Dispatch, their first in 10 years.

Inspired by Stokes’ freight train jumping adventures across the U.S. with his brother and cousin, Simmerkane II was produced by John Dragonetti (of The Submarines) with guest appearances from The Sierra Leone Refugee All Stars, Carly Simon, Matt Embree (Rx Bandits), The White Buffalo, and Blake Hazard (The Submarines).

The Sierra Leone Refugee All Stars, a band formed by Sierra Leone refugees displaced to Guinea during the Sierra Leone Civil War, are featured on the three-song bonus disc included in the CD and digital versions of the album.

Peter Murphy Unveils New Video For "I Spit Roses"

“I am never ‘dark’ but always Luminescent.” - Peter Murphy

The Iconic Peter Murphy has just unveiled his first new video for stand-out track “I Spit Roses” from his recently released and critically acclaimed solo album Ninth. Directed by Justin Coloma, the video features intricate, hand-painted sets that are a modern take on the ornate, art-deco era aesthetic.

Ninth is Peter Murphy’s first solo album in seven years and since the permanent dissolution of Bauhaus in 2009. In celebration of the release, Murphy returned to the States for rare in-store appearances and special live club showcases earlier this month. These select appearances wrap up on June 29 in Los Angeles at the Troubadour.

Praise for Ninth:

“…a dynamic rock record…one of the strongest of his career.” – LA Times

“…badass new effort…” – Time Out New York

“…one taste of ‘Seesaw Sway’ or ‘I Spit Roses’ will remind you exactly who you’re dealing with: the man. It is punk, jaunt, goth, doom, ’80s gloom, everything is present and accounted for." – Consequence Of

(Keep reading for more reviews and tour dates...)

BT, Morgan Page, DJ Dan, Bad Boy Bill Among Nominees For America's Best DJ

Nettwerk recording artists BT, Morgan Page, DJ Dan and Bad Boy Bill are among the 2011 nominees for America's Best DJ (ABDJ). Fans are able to vote from now until September 5, 2011.  Visit to review the full list of nominees chosen by DJ Times Magazine and vote!

Syndicate content